Tags

, , , , , , ,

“Prime and Megs were doing well with the ladies at the secret pool party.
That is, until Magnus showed up.
See, he heard it was “clothing optional” 
and Magnus had misplaced his powersuit…”

Ohhhkay. It seems that Christmas is looming and there’s just so much Christmas shopping to do. Cash isn’t much as I hoped to be, with the recession and all, but at the very least, I can give you guys something to smile about this yuletide season.

This week, other than this funny picture from RevLimit, here are other tracks that could keep that silly smile plastered on your face ’til the end of the month.


. Hurray For The Riff Raff – Bricks

Hurray For the Riff Raff is currently a 4 piece band out of New Orleans, Louisiana. Instrumentation: banjo, fiddle, accordian, upright bass and suitcase drums. It is a collection of songs meant to break/heal you heart and lift your spirits. I’d shower all these guys in precious metals and gems if I could.

I don’t really have the full on details on this track but from what i reckon, its kick-ass fresh and hip. I don’t know why but I’m really digging this one from Eve. Her music has hardly brought me to a second or a third listen, but this one did.

Over at Sheena Beaston , I found this track.

. N.A.S.A – Spacious Thoughts feat. Kool Keith and Tom Waits

This is probably the first post I ever made on NASA ( North America South America ) and their appearance in Thieves By Tuesday, North America, South America is here this week with two brand new tracks featuring some pretty big artists. Like who? Kanye West, Santogold, Lykke Li, Kool Keith and Tom Waits squashed on to two separate tracks ‘Gifted’ and ‘Spacious Thoughts.’ Squeak E. Clean and DJ Zegon are definitely known for putting together high powered artists of different genres to make some great music, but this release is just ridiculous. The Spirit Of Apollo is due out February 17, 2009.

Nice collaboration with T-Pain. A for Blame it! Jamie Foxx drops his 3rd album (Intuition)this DECEMBER 16th. See tracks from Jamie Fox’s upcoming album over at NASDANK.


. Andrew Bird – Tenuousness
Another new Noble Beast track is popping up and it’s great. What makes me love Andrew Bird is his consistency. Not only is his wit, melodious and honest music his best asset but also the perfect feel he provides for every occasion. The album comes out January 20th. (Sorry guys, it was asked to be taken down. Try it with Pigeons and Planes

Before you download, let me warn you that is over a full sixteen minutes long and a awesome sixteen minutes at that. Actually it’s as easy to listen to as it is captivating. This track belons to their latest album, A Hundred Million Suns.


. Mirror Mirror – New Horizons

New York City’s Mirror Mirror bring a cosmic edge to the ambiance of 60s songwriting with their debut album, The Society for the Advancement of Inflammatory Consciousness.


. The Vines – Ms Jackson (Outkast Cover)

You might find The Vines annoying or pathetic. They could be the ones “who allegedly TRIED to bring rock back.” I don’t know what your views are but this track (which was sent to me via email) was pretty sweet and offbeat. Brilliantissimo! A great cover of the well-loved OutKast track. Enjoy the music.


. Metronomy – A Thing For Me (Sinden Remix)

Though I’m not the hugest Metronomy fan, lately their songs have been growing on me. Heartbreaker has been in heavy rotation on my Nseries, but A Thing For Me has taken over the spins. If you’ve noticed I’m more fond of the remixes than the original, but that may just be because the remixes are pretty damn good! When Sinden remix your tracks, you know the result is going to be great. And it’s pretty evident in this track.

This Hiphop/Electronica artist who hailed from Cleveland, Ohio is lucky enough to do some music work with music heavyweight, Kanye West. I don’t know why, but I like more the Crooker’s remix of his first single Day N’ Night. Must be the Lulz. His first album, a single called “Day N’ Night” was released on iTunes on February 5th, 2008. Through his premier on iTunes and through word of mouth, his success continues. His debut album will be released shortly, while a mixtape has been released to satsify the curiosity and thirst of his listeners for more Kid Cudi.

Whilst M.I.A. is lending a bit of her time and talent to do Bollywood (a movie called Slumdog Millionaire), M.I.A. released “O… Saya” a new track. She appears only about half in the track but the timing is perfect.

While M.I.A. doesn’t actually got on the track until about halfway, the song sounds pretty great. If you thought Kanye had his tribal drums down, you should seriously check this out. The only thing I didn’t like was the limited M.I.A. on the track. An extended version of this track would be awesome.

And that’s about it for this week (and I hope not for the rest of the month). But I guess I’ll be back in a few weeks, for a short vacation. In the meantime, bask in the Christmas spirit. I for one am having a hard time having my Christmas going with my sweet grandma passing away [sad.. yes 😥 ], but I’ll try hard to have the best time this Christmas that I could have. Merry Christmas!

