Tags

, , , ,


You read it right, this is a big one from Stones Throw.

The second one coming from Aloe Blacc‘s 7-inch album entitled “Femme Fatale” – Aloe Blacc & Truth+Soul’s take on the Velvet Underground classic.

♫ Aloe Blacc – Femme Fatale

Mayer Hawthorne explains the story behind this record:

“I met Nottz at Nightlife’s Dilla Tribute in L.A. and we just kept in contact. I had always been a fan of Nottz since the 90s. He sent me a bunch of beats and at first I had no idea what to do with any of them, but eventually it hit me. I sang a hook for him on his album as well.

The song is a cover of a cat named Otis Leavill which is one of my all time fav soul sides, but relatively unknown 45. I don’t think Nottz even knew it. I actually even made up some of the words because no one could make out what he said in the original. ha!…”

♫ Mayer Hawthorne – I Need You

Read more inside!


Dam-Funk put together a mix called The Future of Modern Funk while on tour in Croatia this week. You can jump over at the BBC site which airs the mix on Mary Anne Hobbs BBC Radio 1 show.

Download the 45-minute Dam-Funk mix:
♫ The Future of Modern Funk

Track List:
J1 – LiftOff [intro]
Devonwho – Slapshot
Reggie B – Khemitian Temple [Instrumental Version]
Teeko X. – BustAMOVE!GO!OFF
Chesca & Elliot York – Twilight Fades
B. Bravo – Two 2 Tango
AD Bourke – Cosmic Connection feat. Amalia
Distant Starr – Here We Go
Odidisee – Curl
Pudge – Jungle Funk [Jus Dance]
Subtitle x DâM-FunK – Experts
AD Bourke – One For Me
Grooveman Spot – Affection feat. Ahu
Teeko / Dibia$e / Devonwho – Young Funklords
Electric Wire Hustle – Unknown Instrumental aka Track 8
Computer Jay – Slipping!!
Jeremy Glenn feat: Tanika Charles – Turn Our Backs
Fatima – Warm Eyes
Dam-Funk – The Funk Is 4 U/Outro [Unreleased]

